Day #1…Poetry Challenge

A One Week Poetry Challenge

This morning my two boys and I went on a nature walk on the path in the woods by our house.  We took our writer’s notebooks…yes my boys also have writer’s notebooks…and we were sketching and writing as we walked.  I sat for about 20 minutes sketching a wonderfully beautiful…majestically tall tree.  I believe it was an oak tree.  As I sketched, I wondered how long it had stood in that same place and what the area around it had looked like…sounded like…felt like through the years.  Before I got up…I jotted down this first draft of a poem:

 

The Old Oak Tree by Marie Lee

 

Standing as tall as a giant

Shading the ground with it’s

Branches reaching out to

Kiss the sky

And me,

Wondering

How old are you beautiful tree?

My

What wonders you must have seen.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kevin H.
    Apr 12, 2008 @ 18:09:47

    I love that you and your kids walk with notebooks.
    And that you could concentrate on this one, beautiful tree.
    Thanks for sharing
    Kevin

    Reply

  2. girlgriot
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 02:21:25

    I, too, love knowing that you and your boys take walks with your notebooks. Nice.
    –Stacie

    Reply

  3. cloudscome
    Apr 13, 2008 @ 21:40:08

    What a wonderful thing to share with your boys. Trees are always amazing. Thanks for joining the Friday Poetry roundup.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

