Day #2… Poetry Challenge

A One Week Poetry Challenge

Blue China Egg  by Marie

 

It was a sad day in September

Everyone at Grandma’s house

    after a long tearful funeral—

Voices humming in the other room

   swapping stories

And me,

Rummaging through Grandma’s bedroom

  trying to find that perfect

  thing that would keep her alive

Finally…

I found it.

The blue china egg

I plopped onto her bed

   and looked inside

It was empty

   just like my heart felt

I closed my eyes and suddenly

I remembered

Grandma in the kitchen

   baking Italian cookies

   cooking an Italian meal

And saying “coma esta Maria”

Suddenly I realized

The blue china egg

   wasn’t empty after all

It was full of

Precious memories.

 

 

My Grandma passed away when I was a sophomore in college…today when I was dusting my bedroom …and the blue china egg…all the memories of that day came back to me.  Wow…that was 21 years ago.

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kevin H.
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 01:22:37

    These lines:
    It was empty

    just like my heart felt

    Perfect.

    I have a tea cup from my great-grandmother that I still cherish and use in the classroom as an example of an object that has deep memories attached to it.

    Thanks for sharing
    Kevin

    Reply

  2. literacydetails
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 01:42:34

    Thanks…that is why I wrote this poem…I am going to use it in my unit of study during the lessons about poems coming from our memoirs!
    Happy Sunday 🙂

    Reply

  3. Stacey
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 02:26:07

    This is lovely and heartfelt. Thank you for sharing!

    Reply

  4. girlgriot
    Apr 14, 2008 @ 03:58:00

    Nice. I love the image of you on the bed, opening the china egg, the idea of finding the one thing that would keep your grandmother alive for you. Beautiful.
    –Stacie

    Reply

Leave a Reply

