Day #6…Poetry Challenge

A One Week Poetry Challenge

Today our focus in writing will be that poets observe the world around them.  They write poems about things in nature.  I wrote this poem yesterday morning in my notebook.  I am going to use it as part of my mini-lesson today.  Hopefully it will be warm up enough for my first grade poets to take a nature walk…with notebooks…and write! (I brought beach towels for sitting so this should be interesting!!!)

 

Early Spring Morning  by Marie

 

Sunlight

glistens through

the windows

saying

good morning

and

spreading

cheer

throughout the house.

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey from Two Writing Teachers
    Apr 17, 2008 @ 22:56:10

    Would love to hear more about the poetry walk!

    Reply

  2. girlgriot
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 00:47:55

    I hope you got to take your nature/writing walk. I love your picture of early spring, distilled to this lovely, warm image of the sun’s arrival in the house.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

