The Nature Walk

YEAH! …we got to go on the nature walk…or should I say nature writing walk?  My friends were so excited.  Our mini-lesson was about poets observing the world around them…they take notes, or sketch what they see and then they write poems about the “seeds” they found.  I have done this a lot with my personal children and with a fourth grade class but I wasn’t sure how it would go with first graders.  They had a blast.  My friends took it so seriously…they were poets…and proved it!  They had boundries of where they could go and the rule was find a writing spot…sit/lay on your towel and begin observing and writing.  We were outside for thirty minutes.  I didn’t confer with anyone because I wrote too…but they didn’t seem to mind.  They were so actively engaged.  When we returned to the classroom we got in our share circle and everyone turned knee to knee with a partner and shared.  (I knew if I only let a few share today that I would break some little hearts!)  Once we turned back into the circle we talked about what we did as poets today and added to our “What Poets Do”  anchor chart.  Here is a poem by one of my first grade friends:

The Grass by A

 

A green prickly blanket covers

the Earth

keeping all the bugs and snakes warm

I promised them that writing workshop would be outside again today…I will share some more “nature” poems this weekend 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. girlgriot
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 12:52:50

    This is great, and I’m glad you got to go on your walk. I’m going to try to take myself on a little nature walk tomorrow, just to get out in our warm, sunny weather (but I’ll bring my notebook and camera, too)!

    Reply

  2. literacydetails
    Apr 18, 2008 @ 13:41:46

    OOOHHH!!! good idea…I need to take my camera too…that way incase I don’t finish my entry…I still have the visual!…or I can have the visual for a later entry…awesome idea!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

