Day #8…Final Day of the Poetry Challenge

A One Week Poetry Challenge

The children that I am working with “have” to learn how to write acrostic poems (so they can have one in their portfolio).  So I decided to write a few myself to show them how to do it!  Since I have two boys…I wrote a poem about both of them…here goes:

 

Jumping

On the court

Shooting the ball into the

Hoop

Up goes

Another—3 pointer!

 

Joshua LOVES to play basketball, watch basketball, read about basketball…he even slept with his new basketball on his birthday!   Brandon on the other hand…has too many “loves”. He plays the electric guitar and writes music and poetry.  He is an artist and sketches all the time.  But…what he really likes is his skateboard and video games!

 

Born eleven weeks early

Rides a skateboard

Always drawing, sketching or writing in his

Notebook

Drums at his own beat

Often strumming on his guitar and

Never tires of video games 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 22:13:29

    My second graders usually love to write acrostics. I must admit that they are very “listy” in the beginning but when they begin to integrate them with holidays or our study of dinosaurs they improve in content.

    Reply

  2. girlgriot
    Apr 19, 2008 @ 22:51:05

    I love acrostics, and yours are great. I introduced the form to my students on Thursday along with a few others, and I’m betting I’ll see an acrostic or two when we share our work next week! I’ve enjoyed reading your poems during the challenge.

    Reply

  3. Jane Swanson
    Apr 20, 2008 @ 17:31:08

    So very creative! Love this idea. Thank you for all your poems this week.
    ~jane

    Reply

  4. dianaraab
    Sep 01, 2008 @ 11:26:44

    What a great idea!

    You might be interested in reading my book, REGINA’S CLOSET: FINDING MY GRANDMOTHER’S SECRET JOURNAL which depicts the long-term advantages of keeping a journal.

    Also, visit my new blog http://www.dianaraab.wordpress.com.

    Happy writing!
    Diana Raab

    Reply

Leave a Reply

